Office of the Registrar

(Academic & Council Branch)

Jamia Millia Islamia

<u>Minutes</u>

of the Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-VI/2008) held on Wednesday, the 16th July, 2008, at 3.00 p.m., in the Conference Hall, FTK Centre for Information Technology, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

An Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-VI/2008) was held on Wednesday, the 16th May, 2008, at 3.00 p.m., in the Conference Hall, FTK Centre for Information Technology, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi-110025.

The following were present:

2.

1.	Prof. Mushirul Hasan	:	Chairman
	Shaikh-ul-Jamia (Vice-Chancellor)		

Prof. S.M. Akhtar : Member

Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI

3. Prof. A.S. Kohli : Member

Dean, F/o Social Sciences, JMI

4. Prof. T. H. Khan : Member

Dean, F/o Law, JMI

5. Prof. Inayat A. Zaidi : Member

Dean, F/o Humanities & Languages, JMI

6. Prof. Farida Khan : Member

Dean, F/o Education, JMI

7. Prof. S. Sikander Nabi : Member

Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI

8. Prof. S. Ghazanfar H. Zaidi : Member

Dean, F/o Fine Arts/HoD D/o Graphics Art, JMI

9. Prof. S. M. Rashid : Member

Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI

10.	Prof. Zubair Meenai Dean, Students' Welfare, JMI	:	Member
11.	Dr. Iftikhar Ahmed Director, AJK MCRC, JMI	:	Member
12.	Prof. M.B. Alam, Offg.Head, D/o Pol. Science, JMI	:	Member
13.	Prof. Akhtarul Wasey Head, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI / Hony. Director, Dr. Zakir Husain Instt. of Islamic Studies, JMI	:	Member
14.	Prof. Qamar Ghaffar Head, D/o Persian, JMI	:	Member
15.	Prof. A. Bismillah Head, D/o Hindi, JMI	:	Member
16.	Prof. S. H. Usmani Head, D/o Urdu, JMI	:	Member
17.	Prof. Shafiq A. Khan Nadvi Head, D/o Arabic, JMI	:	Member
18.	Prof. M.S. Bhatt Head, D/o Economics, JMI	:	Member
19.	Prof. N. Hasnain Head, D/o Psychology, JMI	:	Member
20.	Prof. A.A. Ansari Head, D/o Commerce, JMI	:	Member
21.	Prof. M. Rais, Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI	:	Member
22.	Prof. Mazhar Ali Khan Head, D/o Geography, JMI	:	Member
23.	Prof. Kishwar Saleem Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI	:	Member
24.	Prof. S. S. Mehdi Head, D/o Physics, JMI	:	Member

25. Prof. Seemi Farhat Basir : Member Head, D/o Biosciences, JMI 26. Prof. Khalid Moin Member Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI 27. Prof. Irshad A. Khan Member Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI 28. Prof. A.Q. Ansari Member Head, D/o Electrical Engineering, JMI 29. Prof. S. Naseem Ahmad Member Head, D/o Electronic & Comm. Engineering, JMI 30. Member Prof. Masood Alam Head, D/o Applied Sciences & Humanities, JMI Proctor, JMI 31. Member Prof. M.N. Doja, Offg. Head, D/o Computer Engineering, JMI 32. Member Mr. Igbal Azam Principal, Jamia Polytechnic, JMI 33. Prof. Ahrar Husain, Member Head, D/o IASE, JMI 34. Prof. Sadre Alam, Head, D/o Painting, F/o Fine Arts. Member 35. Prof. Zahoor Ahmed Zargar, Head, D/o Applied Arts, F/o Fine Arts. Member 36. Prof. Ghufran Kidwai, Member Head, D/o Art Education, F/o Fine Arts. 37. Prof. Nuzhat Kazmi, Member Head, D/o Art History & Art Appreciation Prof. Mohammed Miyan 38. Member (As Sr. Most Professor)/Director, Academy of Professional Development of Urdu Teachers/ Hony. Director, CDOL, JMI

39. Prof. Mujtaba Khan Member Director, Dr. K.R.N. Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies 40. Prof. Faizan Ahmad Member Director, Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Basic Sciences, JMI. 41. Prof. A.K. Ramakrishnan, Member Director, Centre for West Asian Studies. JMI. 42. Prof. I.H. A. Azad Farooqui Member (As Sr. Most Professor / Director), Centre for Study on Comparative Religion, JMI 43. Prof. Biswaiit Das Member Director, Centre for Cuture, Media & Governance, JMI 44. Ms. Sabiha A. Zaidi Member Director, Jamia Prechand Archives & Literary Centre, JMI 45. Dr. G. Makhdumi Member Librarian, Dr. Zakir Hussain Library, JMI 46. Dr. Mukul Kesavan Member (As Sr. Most Reader, D/o History & Culture), JMI 47. Dr. Mohd. Ibrahim Member (As Sr. Most Lecturer) University Polytechnic, JMI 48. Prof. Ravindran Gopinath Member D/o History, JMI (Elected Member) 49. Dr. Iqtidar Mohd. Khan Member Reader, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI (Elected Member) 50. Mr Egbal Hussain Member Faculty of Law, JMI (Elected Member) 51. Mr. Abdul Haleem Babbu Member Lecturer, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, (Elected Member) 52. Mr. Sandeep Sankat Member Lecturer, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, (Elected Member) Mr. Mohd. Yusuf 53. Member Lecturer, IASE, JMI (Elected Member)

54. Dr. Asif Husain : Member

Reader, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI (Elected Member)

55. Mr. Badshah Alam : Member

Lecturer, University Polytechnic, (Elected Member)

56. Dr. S. M. Khursheed Haider : Member

D/o Biosciences, JMI (Elected Member)

57. Mr. S. M. Afzal : Secretary

Registrar, JMI

The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees:

58. Prof. Z.H. Khan Hony. Director, FTK-CIT, JMI

59. Prof. Janki Rajan Hony. Director, S. N. Centre for Women's Studies,

60. Prof. Shri Prakash Hony. Dy. Director, ATWS, JMI

61. Prof. S.M. Sajid Hony. Director, Academic Staff College.

62. Dr Ejaz Hussain Coordinator, Centre for Physio. &

Rehabilitation Science, JMI.

63. Prof. Sharfuddin Ahmed D/o Mathematics, JMI.

64. Mr. I.H. Khan, IFS Controller of Examinations, JMI

65. Mr. I.U. Khan Dy. Registrar (Administration), JMI

66 Dr. Abdul Malik Dy. Registrar (HRD), JMI

67. Mrs. Rakhshanda Jalil Media & Publication Coordinator, JMI

Mr. Mohd. Moinuddin

Asstt. Registrar (A&C), R.O. JMI

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui

Asstt. Registrar E-II, R.O., JMI

Mr. Aftab Ahmad SO (A&C), JMI

The Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

AC-2008(VI): Res.-1

Discussion on the matter related to admission 2008-09.

To begin with, the Vice-Chancellor (Chairman) welcomed all the members of the august body on the commencement of the new academic session 2008-09 and hoped for completing the session peacefully and constructively like the previous years. He also expressed his thanks to all the Deans, HoDs, Directors of the Centres, Controller of Examinations and all other administrative and supporting staff for their willing co-operation in completing the process of Entrance Tests of the University for the academic session 2008-09.

Further, the Chairman apprised the Majlis (AC) about the irregularities occurred in the Entrance Test as reported by the Head, Deptt of Economics. It was also reported that there was great variation in the marks obtained by the candidates in the objective, subjective and interview of admission test of M.A. in Economics. The Majlis (AC) was also informed about the cases of impersonation in the Entrance Tests as identified by the Office of the Proctor, JMI.

After the detailed deliberations on the issue, the Majlis (AC) expressed its serious concern and resolved to cancel the Entrance Test conducted for admission to M.A in Economics for the Academic Session 2008-09 with the direction that the admission test of this course be conducted afresh at the earliest.

The Majlis (AC) has also resolved to constitute a Committee comprising three senior teachers to look into the whole process of Entrance Tests and suggest measures to improve/streamline the procedures involved therein from the beginning to the end.

The Chairman while concluding the meeting, advised the members to ensure completion of admission process for the academic session 2008-09 in time so that the new academic session may commence as notified in the University's Academic Calendar 2008-09.

The meeting ended at 3.50 with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(S.M. Afzal) Registrar/Secretary