Academic & Council Branch (Registrar's Office) Jamia Millia Islamia

MINUTES

of the Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-IV/2009) held on Wednesday, the 08th July, 2009, at 4.30 p.m., in the Conference Hall, Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Administrative Block, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

An Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-IV/2009) was held on Wednesday, the 08th July, 2009, at 4.30 p.m., in the Conference Hall, Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Administrative Block, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

The following were present:

1. Chairman Prof. Mushirul Hasan Shaikh-ul-Jamia (Vice-Chancellor) Prof. S.M. Rashid 2. Member Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI 3. Prof. S. Sikandar Nabi Member Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI 4. Prof. T. H. Khan Member Dean, F/o Law, JMI 5. Prof. S. M. Azizuddin Husain Member Dean, F/o Humanities & Languages, JMI 6. Prof. Mohammed Miyan Member Offg. Dean, F/o Education/ Offg. Head, D/o Educational Studies/ (As Sr. Most Professor)/Hony. Director, CD&OL, JMI 7. Prof. S. M. Akhtar Member : Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI Prof. Khan Masood Member 8. Offg. Dean, F/o Social Sciences, JMI 9. Prof. Ragini Member Dean, F/o Dentistry, JMI 10. Prof. Zubair Meenai Member

Dean, Students' Welfare, JMI

11. Prof. G. P. Sharma : Member Head, D/o History & Culture, JMI 12. Prof. Qamar Ghaffar Member Head, D/o Persian, JMI 13. Prof. A. Bismillah Member Offg. Head, D/o Hindi, JMI 14. Prof. S. H. Usmani Member : Head, D/o Urdu, JMI 15. Prof. Akhtarul Wasey Member Head, D/o Islamic Studies/ Hony. Director, ZHII Studies, JMI 16. Prof. Farhana Siddiqui Member Head, D/o Arabic, JMI 17. Prof. Shahid Ashraf Member Head, D/o Economics, JMI 18. Prof. A. S. Kohli Member Offg. Head, D/o Social Work, JMI 19. Prof. Sheena Jain Member Head, D/o Sociology, JMI 20. Prof. N. Hasnain Member Head, D/o Psychology, JMI 21. Dr. Mohammad Altaf Khan Member Offg. Head, D/o Commerce, JMI 22. Prof. Mohd Rais Khan, Member Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI 23. Prof. Mazhar Ali Khan Member Head, D/o Geography, JMI 24. Prof. Arif Ali Member Head, D/o Biotechnology, JMI 25. Prof. Kishwar Saleem Member Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI Prof. Seemi Farhat Basir 26. Member Head, D/o Biosciences, JMI

27.	Prof. Mehtab Alam Offg. Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI	:	Member
28.	Prof. Irshad A. Khan Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI	:	Member
29.	Prof. Ibraheem Offg. Head, D/o Electrical Engineering, JMI	:	Member
30.	Prof. S. Naseem Ahmad Head, D/o Electronic & Comm. Engineering, JMI	:	Member
31.	Prof. Masood Alam Offg. Head, D/o Applied Sciences & Humanities, JMI Proctor, JMI	:	Member
32.	Prof. Mirza Mohd. Sufyan Beg, Head, D/o Computer Engineering, JMI	:	Member
33.	Prof. Sohrab Ali Head, IASE, JMI	:	Member
34.	Prof. Z. A. Zargar Head, D/o Applied Arts, JMI	:	Member
35.	Prof. M. G. Hussain (As Sr. Most Professor)/D/o Psychology, JMI	:	Member
36.	Dr. Iftikhar Ahmad. Director, AJK-MCRC, JMI	:	Member
37.	Prof. I. H. Azad Faruqi Director, Centre for the Study of Comparative Religion & Civilizations, JMI	: ns	Member
38.	Prof. Azra Razzak Director, Dr. K.R.N. Centre for Dalit & Minorities Stud	: ies	Member
39.	Ms. Sabiha A. Zaidi Director, Jamia Prechand Archives & Literary Centre,	: JMI	Member
40.	Prof. M .Sami Director, Centre for Theoretical Physics, JMI	:	Member
41.	Prof. Zikrur Rahman Director, India-Arab Culture Centre, JMI Offg. Director, Centre for West Asian Studies, JMI	:	Member
42.	Prof. M. Ejaz Hussain Director, Centre for Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Sc,	: JMI	Member
43.	Prof. S. Hasan Mahmud Director, Academic Staff College, JMI	:	Member

AC 08.07.2009

44. Dr. G. Makhdumi : Member

Librarian, Dr. Zakir Hussain Library, JMI

45. Dr. S.A. Muneem Pasha : Member

D/o Political Science, JMI (Elected Member)

46. Mr. Mohd. Yusuf : Member

Lecturer, IASE, JMI (Elected Member)

47. Dr. S. M. Khursheed Haider : Member

D/o Mathematics, JMI (Elected Member)

48. Prof. Z. H. Khan : Secretary

Offg. Registrar, JMI

Hony. Director, FTK-CIT, JMI

The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees:

49. Prof. Nisarul Haq Provost (Boys), JMI

50. Mr. N.U. Siddiqui Finance Officer, JMI

51. Dr. Abdul Malik Dy. Registrar (HRD), JMI

52. Mrs. Rakhshanda Jalil Director, Media & Culture, JMI

53. Mr. Avais Ahmad Officer on Special Duty, JMI

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui

Asstt. Registrar E-II, R.O., JMI

Mr. Aftab Ahmad SO (A&C), JMI

The Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

AC-2009(IV): Res.-1

Approval of the Draft Prospectus of the Faculty of Dentistry for admission to BDS course from the academic session 2009-10 along with the adoption of DCI's Regulations.

The Majlis (AC) considered and approved the Draft Prospectus of the Faculty of Dentistry for admission to BDS course from the academic session 2009-10 along with the adoption of DCI's Regulations (Annexure-I).

While approving the Draft Prospectus of the Faculty of Dentistry, the members of the Majlis (AC) expressed their concern over the exclusion of the component "Interview" from the admission process as

Interview was done for admission to other courses of Jamia Millia Islamia. It was resolved that legal opinion would be taken with regard to inclusion of "Interview" in the admission process.

{Action: AR, L/O}

AC-2009(IV): Res.-2

Approval of the UGC minimum standards and procedure for the award of M. Phil/ Ph. D. Degree Regulations 2009.

The Majlis (AC) considered and resolved to adopt the UGC minimum standards and procedure for the award of M. Phil/ Ph. D. Degree Regulations 2009 (**Annexure-II**).

{Action: AR, L/O}

AC-2009(IV): Res.-3

UGC's DO letter No. F.35-4/2008(CU-OBC) with regard to implementation of reservation of 27% seats for OBCs in terms of the Central Educational Institution (Reservation of Admission) Act, 2006 vis-à-vis the need to maintain status quo in respect of reservation of 25% seats for internal students presently in vogue.

The Vice-Chancellor (Chairman) informed the Majlis (AC) that the letter of the UGC, received just two days back, was being circulated to the members for their consideration (**Annexure-III**).

{Action: ARs, Planning & Development Cell/ A&C}

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(**Prof. Z. H. Khan**) Offg. Registrar