# Office of the Registrar

# (Academic & Council Branch) Jamia Millia Islamia

## **MINUTES**

of the Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) held on Wednesday, the 16<sup>th</sup> September, 2009 at 3.00 p.m., in the Conference Hall, Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Administrative Block, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

### The following were present:

1.	Mr. Najeeb Jung	:	Chairman
	Shaikh-ul-Jamia (Vice-Chancellor)		

2.	Prof. S.M. Rashid	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI		

3.	Prof. S. Sikandar Nabi	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI		

4.	Prof. T. H. Khan	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Law, JMI		

5.	Prof. S. M. Azizuddin Husain	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Humanities & Languages, JMI		

6.	Prof. Mohammed Miyan	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Education/		
(As Sr. Most Professor)/Hony. Director, CD&OL, JMI			

7. Prof. S. M. Akhtar		:	Member
	Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI		

8.	Prof. Anjali Gandhi Dean, F/o Social Sciences/	:	Member
	Offg. Head, D/o Social Work, JMI		

9.	Prof. S. G. H. Zaidi	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Fine Arts/		
	Offg. Head, D/o Graphics Art, JMI		

11. Prof. Zubair Meenai : Member Dean, Students' Welfare, JMI 12. Prof. G. P. Sharma Member Head, D/o History & Culture, JMI 13. Prof. Qamar Ghaffar Member Head, D/o Persian, JMI 14. Prof. A. Bismillah Member Offg. Head, D/o Hindi, JMI 15. Prof. S. H. Usmani Member Head, D/o Urdu, JMI 16. Prof. Akhtarul Wasey Member Head, D/o Islamic Studies/ Hony. Director, ZHII Studies, JMI 17. Prof. Farhana Siddiqui Member Head, D/o Arabic, JMI 18. Prof. Shahid Ashraf Member Head, D/o Economics, JMI 19. Prof. Rumki Basu Member Head, D/o Political Science, JMI 20. Dr. Neshat Quaiser Member Offg. Head, D/o Sociology, JMI 21. Prof. N. Hasnain Member Head, D/o Psychology, JMI 22. Prof. Abdul Aziz Ansari Member Head, D/o Commerce & Business Studies, JMI 23. Prof. S. K. Bhati Member Head, D/o Adult & Cont. Edu. & Ext., JMI 24. Prof. M. A. Wahab, Member Head, D/o Physics, JMI 25. Prof. Naseem Ahmad. Member Offg. Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI

26. Prof. Haseena Hashia : Member Head, D/o Geography, JMI 27. Dr. Khurram Mustafa Member Head, D/o Computer Science, JMI 28. Prof. Kishwar Saleem Member Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI 29. Prof. Seemi Farhat Basir Member Head, D/o Biosciences, JMI 30. Prof. Khalid Moin Member Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI 31. Prof. Irshad A. Khan Member Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI 32. Prof. Abdul Quaiyum Ansari Member Head, D/o Electrical Engineering, JMI 33. Prof. S. Naseem Ahmad Member Head, D/o Electronic & Comm. Engineering, JMI 34. Dr. S. Saiful Islam Member : Head, D/o Applied Sciences & Humanities, JMI 35. Prof. Mirza Mohd. Sufyan Beg, Member Head, D/o Computer Engineering, JMI 36. Mr. Iqbal Azam Member Principal, University Polytechnic, JMI 37. Prof. Najma Amin Member Head, D/o Educational Studies, JMI 38. Prof. Sohrab Ali Member Head, IASE, JMI 39. Dr. Hafeez Ahmed Member Offg. Head, D/o Applied Arts, JMI 40. Prof. Sadre Alam Member Head, D/o Painting, JMI 41. Dr. Nuzhat Kazmi Member Head, D/o Art History & Art Appreciation, JMI

42. Prof. M. G. Hussain : Member (As Sr. Most Professor)/D/o Psychology, JMI 43. Dr. Iftikhar Ahmad. Member Director, AJK-MCRC, JMI 44. Dr. Gayas Makhdumi Member Librarian, Dr. Zakir Hussain Library, JMI 45. Mr. Mukul Kesavan Member (As Sr. Most Reader)/D/o History & Culture, JMI 46. Prof. I. H. Azad Faruqi Member Director, Centre for the Study of Comparative Religions & Civilizations, JMI 47. Prof. Mujtaba Khan Member Director, Dr. K.R.N. Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies 48. Ms. Sabiha A. Zaidi Member Director, Jamia Prechand Archives & Literary Centre, JMI 49. Prof. M .Sami Member Director, Centre for Theoretical Physics, JMI 50. Prof. Biswajit Das Member Director, Centre for Culture, Media & Governance, JMI 1. Prof. Zikrur Rahman Member Director, India-Arab Cultural Centre, JMI 52. Prof. M. Ejaz Hussain Member Director, Centre for Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Sc, JMI 53. Prof. Shakti Kak Member Director, Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies, JMI 54. Prof. Faizan Ahmad Member Director, Centre for Inter. Research in Basic Sc. JMI 55. Prof. Sonya Surbhi Gupta Member Director, Centre for Spanish and Latin American Studies, JMI Prof. Z. H. Khan 56. Secretary : Offg. Registrar, JMI Hony. Director, FTK-CIT, JMI

The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees:

57.	Prof. U. M. Amin	Hony. Director, CMS, JMI
58.	Prof. Nisarul Haq	Provost (Boys), JMI
59.	Prof. Masood Alam	Proctor, JMI
60.	Prof. S. M. Sajid	Advisor, Centre for Research & Higher
		Learning, JMI
61.	Prof. Iqbal Ahmad	OSD (Examinations), JMI
62.	Mr. N.U. Siddiqui	Finance Officer, JMI
63.	Mr. Avais Ahmad	Officer on Special Duty, JMI
64.	Mr. I.U. Khan	Dy. Registrar (Admn.), JMI
65.	Dr. Abdul Malik	Dy. Registrar (HRD), JMI
66.	Mrs. Rakhshanda Jalil	Director, Media & Culture, JMI

The following members of the staff were present to assist in the proceedings:

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui Asstt. Registrar E-II/A&C, R.O., JMI

Mr. Aftab Ahmad Section Officer (A&C), JMI

Prof. Z. H. Khan, Offg. Registrar with the permission of the Chair welcomed the following new members of the Majlis (AC):

- 1. Mr. Najeeb Jung, Vice-Chancellor, JMI
- 2. Prof. Mohammad Miyan, Dean, F/o Education, JMI
- 3. Prof. S. M. Azizuddin Husain, Dean, F/o Humanities & Languages, JMI
- 4. Prof. Najma Amin, Head, D/o Educational Studies, JMI
- 5. Prof. Haseena Hashia, Head, D/o Geography, JMI
- 6. Prof. M. A. Wahab, Head, D/o Physics, JMI
- 7. Prof. Shayamala A. Narayan, Head, D/o English, JMI

The Majlis appreciated valuable contribution of the outgoing members of the Academic Council:

- 1. Prof. Mushirul Hasan, Ex-Vice-Chancellor, JMI
- 2. Prof. S. Inayat A. Zaidi, Ex-Dean, F/o Hum. & Languages, JMI
- 3. Prof. Farida Abdullah Khan, Ex-Dean, F/o Education, JMI
- 4. Prof. Mazhar Ali Khan, Ex-Head, D/o Geography, JMI
- 5. Prof. S. Sajjad Mehdi, Ex-Head, D/o Physics, JMI
- 6. Prof. M. Asaduddin, Ex-Head, D/o English, JMI

It was informed to the Majlis that the term of following Elected Members of the Academic Council has ended on 05.09.2009.

- 1. Mr. Abdul Haleem Babbu, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI
- 2. Mr. Sandeep Sankat, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI
- 3. Mr. Mohd Yusuf, IASE, JMI
- 4. Dr. Asif Hussain, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI
- 5. Mr. Badshah Alam, University Polytechnic, JMI
- 6. Dr. Iqtidar Mohammad Khan, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI
- 7. Prof. R. Gopinath, D/o History & Culture, JMI
- 8. Mr. Iqbal Hussain, F/o Law, JMI
- 9. Dr. S. M. Khursheed Haider, D/o Mathematics, JMI
- 10. Mr. Akbar Hussain, D/o Psychology, JMI
- 11. Dr. S. A. Muneem Pasha, D/o Political Science, JMI

The Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

#### AC-2009(V): Res.-1

The Majlis (Academic Council) considered the proposal for holding the Annual–cum-Special Convocation-2009 for conferring the Degrees/Diplomas to the passed out students and Honorary Degrees (Honoris Causa) to the distinguish personalities on the eve of Jamia 's Foundation day. After detailed deliberations the Majlis (Academic Council) unanimously resolved as under:

- 1. To limit the Annual Day celebrations up to 3-4 days instead of week long Programmes with a view of economy measure.
- 2. Authorized the Vice-Chancellor to finalize the names of four distinguished personalities from amongst the following, subject to their availability. (In case of Mr. Dilip Kumar, it was unanimously agreed to confer the honour even in absentia, in case he is unable to attend the function on health grounds).
  - 1. Mr. Yusuf Khan (Dilip Kumar)
  - 2. Mr. Justice V. N. Khare
  - 3. Prof. Mohd. Amin.
  - 4. Air Marshal Arjan Singh
  - 5. Dr. R.K. Pachauri
  - 6. Lt. Gen. M. A. Zaki
  - 7. Nawab Mansoor Ali Khan Patudi
  - 8. Mr. Kuldeep Nayyar

The meeting ended at 3:30 p.m. with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(**Prof. Z. H. Khan**) Offg. Registrar