### Office of the Registrar (Academic & Council Branch) Jamia Millia Islamia

### <u>Minutes</u>

# of the Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i- Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-VI/2008) held on Monday, the 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2008, at 4.30 p.m., in theDayar-e-Mir, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

An Extra-Ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-VI/2008) was held on Monday, the 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2008, at 4.30 p.m. in the Dayar-e-Mir, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025.

### The following were present:

1.	Prof. Mushirul Hasan Shaikh-ul-Jamia (Vice-Chancellor)	:	Chairman
2.	Prof. S.M. Akhtar Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI	:	Member
3.	Prof. A.S. Kohli Dean, F/o Social Sciences, JMI	:	Member
4.	Prof. T. H. Khan Dean, F/o Law, JMI	:	Member
6.	Prof. Ahrar Husain Offg. Dean, F/o Education, JMI Head, IASE, JMI	:	Member
7.	Prof. S. Sikander Nabi Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI	:	Member
8.	Prof. S. Ghazanfar H. Zaidi Dean, F/o Fine Arts/offg. DSW/HoD D/o Graphics Art,	: JMI	Member
9.	Prof. S. M. Rashid Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI	:	Member
10.	Dr. Iftikhar Ahmed Director, AJK MCRC, JMI	:	Member
11.	Prof. G.P. Sharma Head, D/o History & Culture, JMI	:	Member
12.	Prof. Qamar Ghaffar Head, D/o Persian, JMI	:	Member

13.	Prof. A. Bismillah Offg. Head, D/o Hindi, JMI	:	Member
14.	Prof. S. H. Usmani Head, D/o Urdu, JMI	:	Member
15.	Prof. Farhana Siddiqui Head, D/o Arabic, JMI	:	Member
16.	Dr. Razi Ahmad Kamal Offg. Head, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI	:	Member
17.	Prof. M.S. Bhatt Head, D/o Economics, JMI	:	Member
18.	Prof. Rumki Basu Head, D/o Political Science, JMI	:	Member
19.	Prof. Anjali Gandhi Head, D/o Social Work, JMI	:	Member
20.	Prof. Sheena Jain Head, D/o Sociology, JMI	:	Member
21.	Prof. N. Hasnain Head, D/o Psychology, JMI	:	Member
22.	Prof. A.A. Ansari Head, D/o Commerce, JMI	:	Member
23.	Prof. M. Rais Khan Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI	:	Member
24.	Prof. Mazhar Ali Khan Head, D/o Geography, JMI	:	Member
25.	Prof. Kishwar Saleem Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI	:	Member
26.	Prof. Arif Ali Head, D/o Biotechnology, JMI	:	Member
27.	Prof. Mehtab Alam Offg. Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI	:	Member

28.	Prof. Irshad A. Khan : Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI	Member
29.	Prof. A.Q. Ansari : Head, D/o Electrical, JMI	Member
30.	Prof. D.R. Bhaskar : Offg. Head, D/o Electronic & Comm. Engineering, JMI	Member
31.	Prof. Masood Alam : Head, D/o Applied Sciences & Humanities, JMI Proctor, JMI	Member
32.	Mr. Iqbal Azam : Principal, Jamia Polytechnic, JMI	Member
33.	Prof. Mohd. Miyan : Offg. Head, D/o Educational Studies, JMI (As Sr. Most Professor)/Hony. Director, CDOL, JMI	Member
34.	Prof. Z.A. Zargar : Head, D/o Applied Arts, JMI	Member
35.	Prof. Sadre Alam : Head, D/o Painting, JMI	Member
36.	Prof. I.H. Azad Faruqi : (As Sr. Most Professor)/Director, Study of Comparative Religions & Civilizations, JMI	Member
37.	Prof. Azra Razzak : Director, Dr. K.R.N. Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies	Member
38.	Prof. Shakti Kak : Director, Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies, JMI	Member
39.	Prof. Sonya Surbhi Gupta : Director, Centre for European & Latin American Studies	Member
40.	Prof. Biswajit Das : Director, Centre for Culture, Media & Governance, JMI	Member
41.	Ms. Sabiha A. Zaidi : Director, Jamia Premchand Archives & Literary Centre, JMI	Member

42.	Prof. A. K. Ramakrishnan Director, Centre for West Asian Studies , JMI	:	Member
43.	Prof. Zikrur Rahman Director, India-Arab Culture Centre, JMI	:	Member
44.	Dr. G. Makhdumi Librarian, Dr. Zakir Hussain Library, JMI	:	Member
45.	Dr. Mohd. Ibrahim (As Sr. Most Lecturer) University Polytechnic, JMI	:	Member
46.	Prof. Ravindran Gopinath D/o History, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
47.	Dr. S.A. Muneem Pasha D/o Political Science, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
48.	Mr. Mohd. Yusuf Lecturer, IASE, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
49.	Dr. Asif Husain Reader, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
50.	Mr. Eqbal Hussain Lecturer, F/o Law, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
51.	Mr. Anisur Rahman Registrar, JMI	:	Secretary

The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees:

52.	Prof. Z.H. Khan	Hony. Director, FTK-CIT, JMI
53	Prof. Shri Prakash	Hony. Dy. Director, ATWS, JMI
54.	Prof. M. Amin Usta	Offg. Hony. Director, CMS, JMI
55.	Mr. I.H. Khan, IFS	Controller of Examinations, JMI
56.	Mr. I.U. Khan	Dy. Registrar (Administration), JMI
57.	Dr. Abdul Malik	Dy. Registrar (HRD), JMI
58.	Mrs. Rakhshanda Jalil	Media & Publication Coordinator, JMI
	Mr. Mohd. Moinuddin Asstt. Registrar (A&C), R.O. JMI	

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui Asstt. Registrar E-II, R.O., JMI

Mr. Aftab Ahmad SO (A&C), JMI

The Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

## AC-2008(VI): Reso.-1

The Chairman apprised the members of the current situation on the campus. It was informed that the campus had been peaceful during all these days. Further, meetings with the higher police officials were held who assured to extend every possible help and cooperation to the University in maintaining law and order in the Campus.

Since the reports appearing in the media were not quite fair to Jamia, it was emphasized that there was a need to present things in a proper perspective and counter the deliberate campaign of disinformation as perpetrated by the media.

The Majlis (AC) was also informed that the University had prepared and distributed 3000 pamphlets/banners to the Institutions/Universities and localities in Delhi/New Delhi for their clear perception of the facts. While sharing the views as expressed by the Chairman, the Majils (AC) hoped to get the support and solidarity from all sections of the society. The Majlis (AC) appreciated the support received from various sections of the society.

Finally, the Chairman placed a draft letter for endorsement of the Majlis (AC) for circulation. The Majlis (AC) approved the letter (**Annexure**) and appreciated the Vice-Chancellor's act of upholding the image of the University. It was resolved to circulate the said letter in Urdu, English and Hindi.

5

Before concluding the meeting, the Majlis (Academic Council) reiterated its earlier decision to unequivocally condemn terror, terrorism and communal violence, and constitute a "Legal-Aid Committee" and a "Students' Relief Committee".

Thereafter, the Majlis (AC) observed two minute silence to pay the tribute to Prof. M.N. Meenai, a very senior retired professor of the Department of Political Science, who expired on 28.09.2008.

The meeting ended at 5.30 p.m. with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. Anisur Rahman) Registrar/Secretary