# Office of the Registrar

(Academic & Council Branch)

## <u>Jamia Millia Islamia</u>

#### **Minutes**

of the Extra-ordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-IV/2010) held on 6<sup>th</sup> December 2010 at 5:30 p.m., in the Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.

An emergent meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-IV/2010) was held on Monday, the 6<sup>th</sup> December, 2010, at 5:30 p.m., in the Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.

The following were present:

1.	Mr. Najeeb Jung		:	Chairman
	Shaikh-ul-Jamia (\	/ice-Chancellor)		

2.	Prof. Khalil Ahmad	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI		

3.	Prof. S. M. Azizuddin Husain,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Humanities & Languages, JMI		

4.	Prof. Khalid Moin,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI		

5.	Prof. Anjali Gandhi,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Social Sciences, JMI		

6.	Prof. S. M. Akhtar,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI.		

7.	Prof. Aejaz Masih	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Education, JMI		

8.	Prof. S. G. H. Zaidi	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Fine Arts, JMI		

9.	Prof. Rose Verghese	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Law, JMI		

10.	Prof. Ragini	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Dentistry, JMI		

11.	Prof. Z. H. Khan	:	Member
	Dean, Students' Welfare, JMI.		

12.	Prof. Akhtarul Wasey Head, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI	:	Member
13.	Prof. Mohd Iqbal Head, D/o Persian, JMI	:	Member
14.	Prof. Abdul Bismillah Head, D/o Hindi, JMI	:	Member
15.	Prof. Khalid Mehmood Head, D/o Urdu, JMI	:	Member
16.	Prof. Farhana Siddiqui Head, D/o Arabic, JMI	:	Member
17.	Prof. Shayamala A Narayan, Head, D/o English, JMI	:	Member
18.	Prof. R. Gopinath Head, D/o History & Culture, JMI	:	Member
19.	Prof. Shahid Ashraf Head, D/o Economics, JMI	:	Member
20.	Prof. Nisarul Haq Head, D/o Political Science, JMI	:	Member
21.	Prof. Sheena Jain Head, D/o Sociology, JMI	:	Member
22.	Prof. Waheeda Khan Head, D/o Psychology, JMI	:	Member
23.	Prof. Zubair Meenai Head, D/o Social Work, JMI	:	Member
24.	Prof. S.K. Bhati Head, D/o Adult & Cont. Edu. & Ext., JMI	:	Member
25.	Prof. M. A. Wahab Head, D/o Physics, JMI	:	Member
26.	Prof. M. Hasan Shahid Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI	:	Member
27.	Prof. Rocket Ibrahim` Head, D/o Geography, JMI	:	Member

28.	Prof. Sharif Ahmad Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI	:	Member
29.	Prof. Luqman Ahmad Head, D/o Biosciences, JMI	:	Member
30.	Prof. Arif Ali Head, D/o Biotechnology, JMI	:	Member
31.	Prof. Khurram Mustafa Head, D/o Computer Science, JMI	:	Member
32.	Prof. Abid Haleem Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI	:	Member
33.	Prof. Mehtab Alam Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI	:	Member
34.	Prof. M.M. Sufyan Beg, Head, D/o Computer Engineering, JMI.	:	Member
35.	Prof. A.Q. Ansari, Head, D/o Electrical Engg., JMI.	:	Member
36.	Prof. Syed Naseem Ahmed Head, D/o Electronics & Comm. JMI.	:	Member
37.	Prof. N. U. Khan Hony. Director, University Polytechnic, JMI	:	Member
38.	Prof. Sohrab Ali, Head, IASE, JMI	:	Member
39.	Prof. Zahoor Ahmed Zargar, Head, D/o Applied Arts, JMI	:	Member
40.	Prof. Sadre Alam, Head, D/o Painting, JMI	:	Member
41.	Prof. S. G. H.Zaidi Offg.Head, D/o Art History & Art Appr/Graphics Art, Jl	: MI	Member
42.	Prof. M.G. Kidwai, Head D/o Art Education/Sculpture, JMI.	:	Member
43.	Prof. Obaid Siddiqui Offg. Director, AJK MCRC, JMI	:	Member

44.	Dr. G. Makhdumi, University Librarian, Dr. Z. H. Library, JMI	:	Member
45.	Prof. Zikrur Rahman Director, India-Arab Culture Centre, JMI	:	Member
46.	Prof. Shakti Kak Director, Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies, JMI	:	Member
47.	Prof. Tasneem Meenai Director, N.M. Centre for Peace & Conflict Reso, JMI	:	Member
48.	Prof. Syed Hasan Mahmud Director, Academic Staff College, JMI	:	Member
49.	Prof. Biswajit Das Director, Centre for Culture, Media & Governance, JM	: 11	Member
50.	Prof. Ejaz Hussain Director, Centre for Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Sciences, JMI	:	Member
51.	Prof. Sonya S. Gupta, Director, Centre for Spanish & Latin American Studies, JMI.	:	Member
52.	Prof. M. Mujtaba Khan, Director, Dr. KRN Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies, JMI	:	Member
53.	Prof. Madhu Khanna Director, Centre for Comparative Religion & Civilization, JMI	:	Member
54.	Prof. Ghazanfar Ali Director, Academy of Prof. Dev. for Urdu Medium Teachers, JMI	:	Member
55.	Prof. Shri Prakash Director, MMAJ-ATWS, JMI	:	Member
56.	Mr. Waseem Ahmad Khan IASE, F/o Education, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member
57.	Prof. Abdul Halim D/o Persian, JMI (Elected Member)	:	Member

61. Dr. Haseeb Ahsan : Member F/o Dentistry, JMI (Elected Member)

F/o Dentistry, JMI (Elected Member)

62. Ar. Qamar Irshad : Member F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI (Elected Member)
 63. Ar. Mohd. Firoz Anwar : Member

F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI (Elected Member)

64. Prof. Zaheeruddin : Member D/o of Electrical Engg., JMI

65. Prof. S. M. Sajid : Secretary Registrar, JMI

The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees:

66. Prof. Amin Usta Hony. Director, CMS, JMI
67. Prof. Shahid Ashraf Finance Officer, JMI

68. Prof. Iqbal Ahmad Offg. Controller of Examinations, JMI

69. Prof. Mohammad Shakeel Hony. Director, CD&OL, JMI

70. Dr. Bulbul Dhar James Hony. Director, S.N. Centre for Womens' Studies, JMI

71. Prof. Masood Alam Proctor, JMI

71. Dr. Simi Malhotra
 73. Dr. Ameena K. Ansari
 74. Foreign Students' Advisor, JMI

74. Mr. I.U. Khan Dy. Registrar (Administration), JMI

The following staff members were present to assist in the proceedings:

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui OSD, JMI

Mr. Aftab Ahmad Asstt. Registrar (A&C), JMI The Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

## AC-2010 (IV): Reso.1

### <u>Proposed Ordinance for Postgraduate program (other than M. Phil.)</u> <u>under Credit-based Semester System.</u>

The Majlis (AC) deliberated at length on the proposed Ordinance for Postgraduate program (other than M. Phil.) under Credit-based Semester System. After detailed deliberation, the Majlis (AC) resolved as under:

"Existing provision as contained in para 2 in Ordinance (xv) (Academic) regarding at least 75% attendance should strictly be adhered to. Attendance shall be calculated for each Semester separately and those short of attendance will not appear for the examination".

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. S.M. Sajid) Registrar/Secretary