Office of the Registrar

(Academic & Council Branch)

Jamia Millia Islamia

<u>Minutes</u>

of the Extraordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-II/2011) held on 24th February 2011 at 1:30 p.m., in the Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.

An Extraordinary meeting of the Majlis-i-Talimi (Academic Council) (AC-II/2011) was held on Thursday, the 24th February, 2011, at 1:30 p.m., in the Conference Hall, Dayar-e-Mir Taqi Mir, Administrative Block, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.

The following were present:

1.	Mr. Najeeb Jung		:	Chairman
	Shaikh-ul-Jamia (Vice-Chancellor)	

2.	Prof. S.M. Rashid	:	Member
	Pro-Vice-Chancellor, JMI		

3.	Prof. Q.O.R. Hashmi	:	Member
	Offg Dean F/o Humanities & Languages JMI		

4.	Prof. Khalil Ahmad
	Dean, F/o Natural Sciences, JMI

5.	Prof. Khalid Moin,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Engineering & Technology, JMI.		

6.	Prof. Anjali Gandhi,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Social Sciences, JMI.		

7.	Prof. S. M. Akhtar,	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI.		

8.	Prof. Aejaz Masih	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Education, JMI.		

9.	Prof. Zahoor Ahmed Zargar	:	Member
	Dean, F/o Fine Arts/		
	HoD D/o Graphics Arts/Art History & Art Appr., JMI		

10. Prof. Ragini : Member Dean, F/o Dentistry, JMI.

11.	Prof. Rose Verghese Dean, F/o Law, JMI.	:	Member
12.	Prof. Z. H. Khan Dean, Students' Welfare/Hony. Director, FTK CIT, J	: MI.	Member
13.	Dr. S. Razi Ahmad Kamal Offg. Head, D/o Islamic Studies, JMI	:	Member
14.	Prof. Mohd Iqbal Head, D/o Persian, JMI.	:	Member
15.	Prof. Abdul Bismillah Head, D/o Hindi, JMI.	:	Member
16.	Prof. Khalid Mehmood Head, D/o Urdu, JMI.	:	Member
17.	Prof. Farhana Siddiqui Head, D/o Arabic, JMI.	:	Member
18.	Dr. Ameena K. Ansari Offg. Head, D/o English, JMI	:	Member
19.	Prof. R. Gopinath Head, D/o History & Culture, JMI.	:	Member
20.	Prof. Shahid Ashraf Finance Officer/HoD Economics/Commerce, JMI	:	Member
21.	Prof. Nisarul Haq Head, D/o Political Science, JMI.	:	Member
22.	Prof. Sheena Jain Head, D/o Sociology, JMI.	:	Member
23.	Prof. Zubair Meenai Head, D/o Social Work, JMI.	:	Member
24.	Prof. M. A. Wahab Head, D/o Physics, JMI.	:	Member
25.	Prof. M. Hasan Shahid Head, D/o Mathematics, JMI.	:	Member
26.	Prof. Rocket Ibrahim Head, D/o Geography, JMI.	:	Member

27. Prof. Sharif Ahmad Member Head, D/o Chemistry, JMI. 28. Prof. Lugman Ahmad Member Head, D/o Biosciences, JMI. 29. Prof. Arif Ali Member Head, D/o Biotechnology, JMI 30. Dr. Khurram Mustafa Member Head, D/o Computer Science, JMI 31. Prof. Abid Haleem Member Head, D/o Mechanical Engineering, JMI. 32. Prof. Mehtab Alam Member Head, D/o Civil Engineering, JMI. 33. Prof. M.N. Doja, Member Head, D/o Computer Engineering, JMI. 34. Prof. A.Q. Ansari, Member Head, D/o Electrical Engg., JMI. 35. Prof. Mirza Tariq Beq. Member Offg. Head, D/o Electronics & Comm. JMI. 36. Prof. S.S. Islam Member Head, D/o Applied Sc. & Humanities, JMI. 37. Prof. N. U. Khan Member Hony. Director, University Polytechnic, JMI. 38. Prof. Sohrab Ali, Member Head, IASE, JMI. Prof. Najma Amin 39. Member Head, D/o Educational Studies, JMI. 40. Prof. Sadre Alam, Member Head, D/o Painting, JMI. 41. Mr. S.M. Shahid Jawed Member Head, D/o Sculpture, JMI. 42. Prof. S.G.H. Zaidi Member Head, D/o Applied Arts, JMI.

43. Prof. M. Obaid Siddiqui Member Director, AJK MCRC, JMI. 44. Dr. Gayas Makhdumi Member University Librarian, Dr. Z. H. Library, JMI. 45. Prof. M. G. Husain Member D/o Psychology, JMI 46. Prof. Zikrur Rahman Member Director, India-Arab Culture Centre, JMI. 47. Prof. Shakti Kak Member Director, Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies, JMI. Member 48. Prof. Tasneem Meenai Director, N.M. Centre for Peace & Conflict Reso, JMI. Prof. Faizan Ahmad 49. Member Director, Interdisciplinary Research in Basic Sciences (CIRBS), JMI. 50. Prof. Ejaz Hussain Member Director, Centre for Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Sciences, JMI. 51. Prof. Azra Razzack, Member Director, Dr. KRN Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies, JMI. 52. Member Prof. Madhu Khanna Director, Centre for Comparative Religion & Civilization, JMI. 53. Dr. Javed Ahmad Khan Member Director, Centre for West Asian Studies, JMI. 54. Prof. Biswajit Das Member Director, Centre for Culture, Media & Governance, JMI. 55. Prof. S. Hasan Mahmud Member Director, Academic Staff College, JMI Prof. Sonya Surabhi Gupta 56. Member Director, Centre for Spanish & Latin American Stud., JMI

57. Prof. Sabiha Anium Zaidi Member Director, Jamia's Prem Chand Archives & Lit. Centre, JMI 58. Dr. Sushant G. Ghosh Member Offg. Director, Centre for Theoretical Physics, JMI 59. Dr. Abdul Halim Member : D/o Persian, JMI. (Elected Member) 60. Dr. Rizwan Qaiser (Elected Member) Member D/o History & Culture, JMI. 61. Prof. Zaheeruddin Member D/o of Electrical Engg., JMI (Elected Member) 62. Mr. S. M. Mahmood Member University Polytechnic, JMI (Elected Member) Mr. Ghulam Yazdani 63. Member Faculty of Law, JMI (Elected Member) Dr. Sajid Z. Amani 64. Member Faculty of Law, JMI (Elected Member) 65. Prof. Khalid Iftikhar Member D/o Chemistry, JMI (Elected Member) Dr. S.A.M. Rizvi 66. Member D/o Computer Science, JMI (Elected Member) 67. Prof. Saranjit Singh Member Faculty of Dentistry, JMI (Elected Member) 68. Dr. Haseeb Ahsan Member F/o Dentistry, JMI (Elected Member) Ar. Qamar Irshad 69. Member F/o Architecture & Ekistics, JMI (Elected Member) 70. Prof. S. A. M. Pasha Member D/o Political Science, JMI (Elected Member) 71. Prof. S. M. Sajid Secretary Registrar, JMI. The following persons also attended the meeting as Special Invitees: 72. Prof. Amin Usta Hony. Director, CMS, JMI. 73. Offg. Controller of Examinations, JMI. Prof. Igbal Ahmad 74. Prof. Mohammad Shakeel Hony. Director, CD&OL, JMI.

75. Dr. Bulbul Dhar James Hony. Director, S.N. Centre for Womens' Studies, JMI.

76. Prof. Masood Alam Proctor, JMI.

77. Dr. Ameena K. Ansari Foreign Students' Advisor, JMI

78. Dr. Simi Malhotra, Offg. Media Coordinator

78. Mr. I.U. Khan Dy. Registrar (Administration), JMI.

The following staff members were present to assist in the proceedings:

Mr. Nihaluddin Siddiqui OSD, JMI.

Mr. Aftab Ahmad

Asstt. Registrar (A&C), JMI.

To begin with, the Vice-Chancellor (Chairman) welcomed all the members for attending the meeting on very short notice.

Thereafter, the Majlis (AC) conducted the following business:

AC-2011 (II): Reso.-01

Consideration of the judgment made by the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions for declaring Jamia Millia Islamia as Minority Institution under Article 30(1) of the Constitution.

The Vice-Chancellor informed the Majlis (AC) of the judgment of National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions declaring Jamia Millia Islamia as a minority institution under Article 30 (1) of the Constitution read with Section 2(g) of the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions Act. The Majlis agreed with the Vice-Chancellor that after obtaining the official certified copy of the judgment, Jamia could proceed in the matter in accordance with the judgment and law, and to take up the matter with the Government (MHRD) for expeditious implementation.

The meeting was concluded at 1.45 p.m. with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. S.M. Sajid) Registrar/Secretary